Thread: Iron level 9.6, just how low is this?

Default Iron level 9.6, just how low is this?

The nurse left me a message and now they are out of the office. My iron was 9.6, what's it supposed to be? I guess I'm supposed to start supplements and they're hoping it'll fix the dizzy spells. But the supplements cause bathroom issues which I have already been battling, is there areything more "natural" I can do?
    I got my PHD from Google University :toothless

I was told normal was 12-16. 9 for me is normal these days. I went down to 6.7 about a month ago (I am not pregnant) and was immediately hospitalized and given blood.

So, 9 is low but not horrible.

I take colace with my extra iron. Good luck to you!

You can eat iron rich foods and also cook your food in a cast iron skillet.

When pregnant, mine usually ends up in the 9 range and my dr calls it "borderline low."
    Jennifer
    Wife and Mom to 2 boys
    GS X 1 - 9/28/2010 :girl:
    GS X 2 - 11/20/2012 :boy:

12 is the lowest end of normal.
    I take Slow-Fe and it is supposed to be one of the gentler iron supplements in regards to stomach issues.
    Do not take an iron supplement at the same time as you consume anything with Vitamin C. Iron doesn't absorb properly if you do.
    If you drink tea that can also be part of the problem. Something in tea (I can't remember what it's called), makes it harder to absorb the iron as well.
    I think taking Vitamin B with iron will help the iron absorb better.
    Last edited by MamaLuv3; 08-06-2010 at 03:18 PM.
    Amy
    Momx3
    GSx2
    What's next?:spin:

Quote Originally Posted by MamaLuv3 View Post
    I take Slow-Fe and it is supposed to be one of the gentler iron supplements in regards to stomach issues.
    Do not take an iron supplement at the same time as you consume anything with Vitamin C. Iron doesn't absorb properly if you do.