Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Surrogates and Herpes

Default Surrogates and Herpes

can you still be a surrogate and have herpes?

thanks ya'll!:sunshine:
    Tammy
    mom to 4 and 1 on the way
    TS x 3
    Loving Life!

breana is offline Waiting to catch that egg

What type of herpes are you asking about?

I am no expert, but I dont see why not. As long as one isnt having an active outbreak, it poses no risk to a baby being born. I think if you're having an outbreak, you might need a C section (I could be wrong on this part, though)

Thank you Erica for the siggy!
    Former TS for E&E, m/c 4/09, chemical 9/09

I've heard yes and no. Yes you can but if you have an out break at the time of delivery then a c-section is needed so as not to infect the baby. And no because if you have an outbreak and don't get to a hospital in time and birth the baby vaginally, baby could get infected, etc.. I think it would really depend on the IP's, what they think and how open minded they are, the surrogates doctor clearing her and having a treatment plan during the pregnancy to avoid any outbreaks and the RE..if they will transfer to a surrogate with herpes.
    Kari
    Mom to Savanna (2003), Robert (2004) and Lilliann (2008)
    SurroMom to Tyler (2009), twins Emily and Joshua (2010) and Marie (2012).
    Retired and working on me now.
    Missing my friend Ray and father to Tyler, Emily and Joshua. Taken from this life by cancer too soon. You will never be forgotten. RIP 1-13-13

Quote Originally Posted by Looking2BGSinOR View Post