gay parents in the birth certificate
This is the third time i post this and it does not show. I was told that babies have to stay in the state where they wre born for at least 3 weeks and that applies that this applies to all states. Specifically, I would like to know what are the rules in Iowa. I am from a different state. I was told that there is no way, legally, of taking the baby back home before three weeks. Is that the case? Thank you!
First off, let me state that I have no control over what shows as a post and what does not. Sorry for your frustration! But, let me try to answer your question: The simple answer is that there is no one "rule" that applies to every state unless it is a federal rule adopted by the US Congress. And there are no federal statutes about traveling with newborn babies. We have had 2 dads who live in Georgia, had their baby in Massachusetts where the GS lived on a Saturday, and flew out on Tuesday. We had a single dad who had his baby in Georgia, and likewise left within the week. In both of these cases, the courts granted pre-birth parentage order. Even in those cases when a court has granted an order post-birth, however, that can typically be granted immediately after birth -- and once granted, the baby can travel with you. In fact, with the exception of our international clients, who needed passports, I cannot think of any parents who have stayed 3 weeks before traveling home. There is nothing magic that I know of about 3 weeks.
I am not familiar with the specifics of Iowa procedure, either for traditional or same-sex couples. (There is no surrogacy statute in Iowa.) Can anyone add to my state-by-state data base?
Hope this helps -- and good luck!
Your first 2 posts in this forum were replies to other threads. If you have a question for Diane, make sure to start a new thread (not reply to others threads), otherwise the post is automatically deleted. This is posted in the welcome thread for Diane at the top of this forum.
Originally Posted by 2papas
Sorry for the confusion.